Faith Not My Own

Faith – Confident belief in the truth, value, or trustworthiness of a person, idea, or thing.

It is strange how simple faith can generate transformation which leads to a newfound vitality.  To show kindness toward a person who is stuck in a place, looked upon with haughty eyes and seemingly hopeless, is nice.  It is kind.  To show true faith toward a person who sees only darkness and whose heart is filled with despair is life-changing.  It is life-giving.  It is the gospel.

I cannot help but to think of my own faith in God.  Was it my faith that saved my soul?  Yes and no.  Yes, I made a decision to acknowledge Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior.  But no, it could not have been my depraved heart which birthed in me a pure faith in God.  An emphatic “NO”, actually.  I am reminded of how God first created me.  He believed in me.  And He had faith in me, first.  In my darkest hour, His words became my words.  And His faith became my faith.  That is what makes me new and ALIVE.

Matthew 14:28-32

28And Peter answered him, “Lord, if it is you, command me to come to you on the water.” 29He said, “Come.”  So Peter got out of the boat and walked on the water and came to Jesus. But when he saw the wind, he was afraid, and beginning to sink he cried out, “Lord, save me.” 31Jesus immediately reached out his hand and took hold of him, saying to him, “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?” 32And when they got into the boat, the wind ceased. 33And those in the boat worshiped him, saying, “Truly you are the Son of God.”

God is a loving God.  That we certainly know and believe.  Jesus did not intend for Peter to be drowned nor humiliated.  That would have been uncharacteristic of Jesus and would not have glorified the Father in any way.  But Jesus asks Peter to do something unbelievable in the world and to the world.  At first thought, this event is just awesome and extraordinary.  But let us analyze Jesus’ word to Peter.  “Come.”  Jesus believed in Peter. that he could walk on water and defy the laws of the Earth.  Jesus believed first and when His word was spoken, Peter then believed and acted in faith.  In the same way, He tells his children, “Come.”  Walk closer.  Be lifted.  Be new and alive.  Be who you are.  I created you first.  I loved you first.  I believe in you.  I see the beauty I have placed in you.  I see the plans I have for you.  I see the redemption of your life.  All because of My love for you.

He calls us to become great.  To overcome our flesh.  To embrace victory already gained.  To do the impossible.  Why?  By the shed blood of Jesus Christ and by the Holy Spirit, He knows we can.  So we can and we do.

And we must also ask ourselves a few questions.  Am I recognizing the beauty, truth, and value that God has placed in every person?  Do I have faith in God’s faith and redemptive power in the lives of others?  Is the faith that God has given me giving life to others?  Are my words and actions encouraging and full of light, causing darkness to flee?  Am I looking for souls to uplift, even?

Watching hope arise from the depths of a soul by the love of Christ is amazing.  You see it in their eyes, their countenance.  Everything becomes different.

Help me to see with Your eyes.  May my faith in You not sit idly within me but go out and move mountains in the hearts of people.

3 responses to “Faith Not My Own

  1. Woah. Preach on brotha!

    And HAHAHA, oh man, first when I saw your comment I thought maybe it was one of those virus things that sends mass messages out to people ’cause I couldn’t get to the site, but when I finally did I started cracking up. I’m FAMOUS!

Leave a Reply

