Dreaming Again

I remember, for a certain class in high school, I had to assemble an anthology, a collection of poems.  It was to be comprised of poems from famous poets, poems I wrote, and a few poems written by classmates.  A month or so ago, Lisa and I were hanging out at my house and we randomly (re)discovered this anthology.  Lisa really got a kick out of the poems I wrote.  Was straight up laughing.  That kind of hurt, Lisa.  JK.  They were a bit ridiculous, I must admit.  I SMH’ed at myself inside when we were reading them.  Perhaps I will share one with the blogosphere one day.  MAYBE.

One of the poems I included in the anthology was Dreams by Langston Hughes.  A short piece of poetry that for whatever reason connected and resonated with me at that time.   Here it is:

Dreams by Langston Hughes

Hold fast to dreams
For if dreams die
Life is a broken-winged bird
That cannot fly.
Hold fast to dreams
For when dreams go
Life is a barren field
Frozen with snow.

Reading it again after all these years (wow 8-10 years), I am pleasantly filled with similar feelings and thoughts of inspiration and perseverance.  I didn’t even have lofty dreams and aspirations in high school but I clearly do remember thinking there must be more and that life for God’s kingdom would be exciting, challenging, and not ordinary.  Difficulties in life can certainly put a damper on one’s perspective and outlook though.  I think it has in my life, on some level, over the years.  I’ve certainly learned that ordinary is hard, painstakingly real.  Preparation takes work and persevering really sucks a lot of times.  Little by little the gaze towards heaven shifts downwards and inwards.  The convictions of dreams fade and dreams begin to be only pleasant fairy tales from way back when and not something to be fiercely pursued. 

I’m familiar with God raising people from the dead.  I’m realizing he raises dreams from the dead too.

2 responses to “Dreaming Again

  1. That poem by Langston Hughes is one of my favorites! I remember doing a report on his poetry and he’s stuck with me since! I forget most of the other poets I had to learn about.

Leave a Reply

