Michael Horton’s Systematic Theology

I received a package in the mail last week.  Don’t you absolutely love seeing that box package on the doorstep waiting for you?  I ordered Michael Horton’s Christian Faith: A Systematic Theology for Pilgrims on The Way.

I always wanted to slowly go through Wayne Grudem’s Systematic Theology, but never got around to it.  I remember seeing a few of my friends from CFC/Illinois study it many years ago and me thinking “THAT IS HUGE!”  I thought they were very crazy.  But now they are seminarians and/or pastors.  Go figure.

So when I was browsing for books one day and noticed that Michael Horton was releasing a new Systematic Theology, I got real excited.  I quickly ordered it and surely it arrived in the mail last week.  I was on the phone with Lisa when I was opening the package, bursting with excitement, and now that I think about it, I must have sounded really, really nerdy.

I’ve known about Michael Horton for only less than a year now.  He is a very gifted minister, author, and teacher.  He has several books published and is the host of his teaching radio ministry, The White Horse Inn.  Check out their podcast, it’s great!

I’m only thirty pages in but I am really enjoying it.  Horton is obviously very knowledgeable and insightful but his genuine love and excitement for Christ and the Gospel really shines and attracts through the text.  I recommend the book to anyone interested in Christian theology and wants to study up on the doctrines of our faith.  It’s a big book (1000+ pages) and can come off as very textbook-like, dry and boring, from the looks of it.  But so far, I’ve found it to be very interesting, insightful, and beneficial to read.  I do have to note that Michael Horton writes from a Reformed perspective.  I’ll have more substantial things to say about the content of the book once I’m more deep into it, but I don’t find much risk in saying that any Christian would find the book beneficial to read, no matter his or her theological leanings.

You have until January 27 to purchase with 45% off at WTS Books.

Leave a Reply

