Midnight Reflections

I’m now sitting on my bed, crossed legged, minutes after wielding my shoe to deliver a powerful deathblow to a huge spider on the ground.  I hate spiders.  It took me 7 seconds to gather the courage to do it, but I did it.  Chinatown Hotel in Chicago is . . . hmm.  Just avoid it, if you can afford to.

TGC11-2TGC11-3TGC11

It’s the final night of my stay here for the Gospel Coalition Conference and it’s been such a privilege to see, hear, and receive such amazing proclamations of the Gospel by some of the most gifted preachers and teachers of our day.  Tim Keller, Al Mohler, Matt Chandler, Kevin DeYoung, James McDonald, Don Carson, Mark Driscoll, C.J. Mahaney, and so on.

It’s been an absolute thrill to sit under the preaching of these great messengers.  But as I listen and hear and see Christ and Christ crucified, I am quickly reminded how vastly greater and glorious the message of the Cross is.  The message of the Gospel is what amazes, what saves, what gives life, transforms, sustains, and grows.  It is absolutely mind boggling that God would allow such scum-of-the-Earth sinners to be messengers and proclaimers of such amazing love and truth.  How can that be?  What love is this?

As I sit here, I’m just grateful.  I’m thinking about my life and I’m grateful.  There still are heartaches, hardships, failures, flaws, and so on, but my God, my God has saved me.  In that, I cannot help but to rejoice.  I do not glory in my spiritual performance and achievements nor am I crushed in my failure.  My confidence is solely in the substitutionary work of Christ on the cross.  Bought and cleansed by the blood.  Approved by His righteousness imputed to me.  To Him be the Glory.

I will share more later but to anyone who reads, I pray you will know my God and His grace.  And if you have forgotten, please go back to the Gospel again.

Leave a Reply

